Snippets of New York

I haven’t made a full blog post about my experience in New York, but I have written some snippets of my impressions and observations. I decided to collect those snippets and post them here.

1.)   I went to a talk in Bryant Park which featured writers who had successful debut novels and I wanted to buy all their books.

2.)   In response to a question about whether the authors thought of the reader while they were writing their novels, one of the writers said that he imagines that he is a stand up comedian who tries to think of something everyone thinks of but no one has bothered to talk about, so when he says something, the audience is amused, thinking “Hey, how did a complete stranger guess my thoughts?”

3.)   New York Fashion:

  • Black leggings, black short sleeved long cotton top with nude colored ankle length gladiator sandals
  • A sleek and posh basic black dress with flat plain brown slippers
  • Basic black dress with black sneakers and black ankle length socks
  • Fuchsia tshirt with orange short shorts

4.)   I ate the famous banana pudding in Magnolia Bakery. It had a subtle sweetness, posh and refined, and I was like “eh, ok lang. Too subtle for my taste.”

5.)   In the cruise there was a sign that said, “Luxury for $10,” and there were like tote bags, pretty silver watches, beautiful scarves etc. My titas from New York were like “OMG $10 for a bag? How cheap!” and I’m like “Tangna, P500!”

6.)   If I can lakwatsa in New York, I can lakwatsa anywhere.

7.)   In New York there are so many free stuff—free tours, free brochures, free public libraries with free wifi, parks with free wifi, free music (performers sang in Washington Square Park and in front of the Met steps), free movies, free lectures! Yey!

8.)   12 days till Ja goes home. Party tayo.

9.)   This is my sixth lakwatsa to New York city. Marunong na ako mag subway, bus, and I know the streets already. Proud ba?

10.) What if you get on the subway and never get out for the whole day?

11.) New york has great architecture. No wonder Brad Pitt loved architecture. I wanted to take pictures of every building, but I didn’t want to look too tourist-y. Mahirap na, mag-isa lang ako nag-tra-travel.

12.) In New York, what is “walkable” and “near” is trike-able, jeep-able, pedicab-able, taxi-able, bus-able, fx-able, kalesa-able in the Philippines. Ayoko na maglakad.

13.) In America, parang aircon lahat ng outdoor areas.

14.) In the Philippines, we rarely walk. We have cars, the LRT, taxis, buses, jeepneys, tricycles, pedicabs, motorcycles, bikes, and kalesas. Take that first world.

15.) In New York, people walk under drizzles of rain without umbrellas. In the Philippines, even a drop of rain will prompt people to open an umbrella, unless you’re young, you’re with your friends, and you want to look cool. It rarely drizzles in the Philippines. Mostly it’s like the clouds opened their faucets of rain. The rain in the Philippines doesn’t progressively grow stronger. Rain can change from a drop to a storm within seconds, so open your umbrella quickly or else you can get soaked.

16.) In New York, people find it funny when someone uses an umbrella in the hot sun. Weirdos.

17.) Some Americans don’t eat leftovers. What the hell?

18.) New Yorkers are so nice. You don’t have to ask for help because they volunteer to help you. There was a nice lady who asked me, “Are you lost?” and she helped me by giving me directions. An old Italian man who sat next to me in Washington Square Park told me the nice streets that I should explore in The Village. Several people have asked me, “Do you want your picture taken?” Then again there was this creepy old man who helped me get a metrocard, but then hugged me a bit to closely, a bit too tight, and way too long. He kept saying, “Filipina, very beautiful people” (Because he asked me if I was Brazilian, and I said I was Filipino.)

19.) As I was sitting in Bryant Park, a girl approached me and said that they were picking twenty girls to get a super salon treatment 80% off. She was like, “You get a haircut, manicure, pedicure, and a massage for only $60!’ She genuinely thought she was offering such a great bargain. In my mind, I was like, “tangna, P3000, eh sa Pinas P500 lang yun or cheaper.”  I wanted to tell her “Dear, I’m from a third world country, trust me, that’s not cheap.” Hay naku, first world, if you only knew. Laugh trip ka, sobra na.

20.) In New York, there are so many parks and they have public toilets (Most of them aren’t that clean, but after the squat toilets in Indonesia, I’m like sisiw lang yan, buo ang lobo, kayang-kaya!). In the Philippines, the public toilets are in gasoline stations or you just go inside Mcdo, Jolibee, or any crowded fast-food restaurant. You don’t have to buy anything, just walk in, look for the bathroom, pee, then get out.

21.) In Las Vegas, approaching cars slow down when they see passengers crossing. In New York, there are traffic lights for pedestrians so you can cross the street in peace. In the Philippines when approaching cars see pedestrians they speed up and honk madly so you must run like wild or else…err…well, you die.

22.) When I go back to the Philippines, I have to remember to run like wild again. I should not get used to this world where pedestrians have the right of way.

More Travel posts:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on TwitterFacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com. 

Leave a Reply

