Making My Own Inspirational Quote

Ever since I was young, I wanted to make my own quote. I was attracted to how a single line can make someone immortal. My classmates always started their essays with a quote, but I wouldn’t do this because I thought that it wasn’t an original or gripping introduction.

One time, I couldn’t think of an introduction for my Christian Living essay. I didn’t want to put a quote, but that was the only thing that I could think of. Then an idea struck me—what if I write my own quote? I wrote the quote, put it in quotation marks, put a dash, then I wrote my initials.

I thought it was cocky to write my own quote, so I hoped my teacher would think that my initials stood for a name of someone who was famous, and he or she will not realize that those were just my initials. From then on, I have tried to write several quotes. Here are the quotes that I have written about following one’s dreams, and in my case, that dream is to become a great writer.

  • Following your heart is scary, doing otherwise is painful.
  • You’ll never know if you’re talented enough. You’ll only know if you’re brave enough.
  • If you’re not afraid to sound pedestrian, you might actually get to say something profound.
  • Courage and passion. It’s always about courage and passion. No matter who you are or what you want, it’s always about courage and passion.
  • Dear Universe, I am a writer. Let me write.

  • Believing is the first step to becoming.
  • Now that I’m a writer, whenever I “waste my time” on tv shows, movies, or books, I just think, hey, it’s part of my education.
  • What causes failure is the fear of failure. If you’re not afraid, you don’t notice your failures because you’re too busy thinking of the next step.
  • If there are moments that I regret in my life, they are those times I did not believe in myself.
  • To be an artist is to profit from everything that hurt you and everything that made you smile.
  • If you pay attention, something will be beautiful.
  • Every writer is just a person who grabs a pen and scribbles on paper.
  • Everything happens for a reason, and if there is no reason, create a reason.
  • Every piece of writing is an attempt to be vulnerable.
  • Write something. Don’t be afraid. Just write something.
  • I’d rather be a guilty pleasure than bring no pleasure at all.
  • Every article about writing starts with one advice: write.
  • Building courage one post at a time.
  • For some, stillness causes restlessness, for artists, inspiration.
  • Learn. Write. Meet people. Be happy.
  • A writer has to constantly write, just like an athlete has to constantly run. (Semi-inspired by something Natalie Goldberg said)
  • There is no such thing as failure, there is only fear of failure, and a lack of trying.
  • For the passionate, there is no such thing as failure.
  • Originality is overrated, but truth, rawness, and bravery are eternal.
  • Nothing is a waste of time as long as I write about it afterwards.
  • Great artists are always rooted in their culture.
  • You, whoever you are, you should write.
  • For artists, discipline is the freedom that releases them from the chains of laziness.
Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on TwitterFacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com. 

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

5 thoughts on “Making My Own Inspirational Quote

  1. Ja, ganda ng quote mo na ito! :))) Pwede bang i-post sa fb? hehe
    “What causes failure is the fear of failure. If you’re not afraid, you don’t notice your failures because you’re too busy thinking of the next step.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

