In Defense of Facebook: 5 Reasons Why I Love Facebook

When people were grumbling about certain changes in Facebook, I decided to come to its defense by posting, “I love Facebook!” A friend thought that I was just doing some positive thinking. I wasn’t. I really love Facebook.

Of course there are things that you can criticize about Facebook like privacy concerns, filtering concerns, etc. I am not saying that these things don’t matter. I understand that Facebook has its pros and cons, but as of right now, I want to give it its due and celebrate the good side of Facebook.

1. It can be an awesome learning tool

I am lucky that I have smart friends and family members who post really interesting stuff. Everyday, I try to read at least one. Lots of topics interest me, so I often pin or blink the interesting articles for later whenever I don’t have the time to read it right away. I get updates from pages such as Al Jazeera, Slate, Huffington Post, Newser, The Economist, Reader’s Digest, The New York Times, The Guardian, Ted Talks, Brain Pickings, etc. I tried to do this on twitter, but I got bored. In Facebook, I am entertained by the pretty pictures and stuff, so I prefer browsing my Facebook newsfeed as opposed to my Twitter timeline.

2. I can connect with friends and family members wherever they are

Like a typical Filipino family, our family is scattered around the world. I have family members in the America and Europe. Its always nice to get updates about their lives through Facebook.

I also love that I can just say hi to my friends whether they are in Mindanao, the U.S., etc.

Facebook also lets me connect with old friends. It’s always fun when someone posts an old picture, and you’re like Aww…we look so young.

3. It helps me think positively.

I get updates from pages such as Positive Outlooks, All Famous Quotes, Gretchen Rubin (Author of The Happiness Project), etc.

4. I love its crowdsourcing powers

When I want to know something, I ask my friends on Facebook. Although sometimes, some people just comment Google it. Facebook also helps me when I’m writing something. For example, when I was writing my post Playing Around the Coffin, I wanted to include details like the candies that were usually found in a typical Filipino wake, so I posted a question on Facebook and many replied.

5. It acts as a collection of sites I love

I like that I have all my favorite links in one place (although I am thinking of starting a link blog too).

More Blog, Social Media, and Techie Stuff:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com. 

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

Leave a Reply

