100 Things that I’m Thankful For

I can’t believe this is my 100th post. I just want to say thank you to my readers. You don’t know how happy you make me whenever I see my blog stats going up or when people like my posts or leave comments. I’m so glad I discovered blogging. I wanted to celebrate my 100th post by dedicating it to gratefulness. I want to remind myself about all the good things in my life, and hopefully this will make you guys smile.

1. I have a great mother.

She gives me advice and inspires me to chase my dreams. She’s a single mother who raised me on her own. She’s also a feminist who inspires me to stand up for women’s rights.

2. I have a great grandmother.

She is an awesome cook. I wish I could learn how to cook all her recipes. She used to sing on the radio and was the queen of Santa Cruzans and fiestas in Malabon, Batangas, and other surrounding areas. Her timeless beauty and great heart amazes me everyday.

3. I have an awesome family.

My family is composed of really awesome people. I love them so much.

4. I know what I want to be. I want to be a writer.

Ever since I was young, I already loved writing. I started out as a dedicated diary writer. Despite my love for writing, I never planned to be a writer. It took me a while before I realized that this was what I really wanted to be. I shifted several times in college before I finally shifted to creative writing.

More Writing Exercises and Adventures:

5. I discovered blogging.

I have so many interests, so I love it that there’s a place where I can talk about all the things I love.

6. I stumbled into debate.

Debate changed my life. From a shy girl, debate turned me into someone who could speak to a crowd. I am grateful for my high school debate club, the Miriam Forensics Guild, where I learned the basics of debate and met great people. I am grateful that I was able to debate for the Ateneo Debate Society.

 7. Ateneo Debate Society.

The Ateneo Debate Society (ADS) is the most awarded debate institution in Asia and has been consistently ranked in the top 10 best debate institutions in the world. I am so glad that I am a part of this great organization. I have met great people and have learned so much. I actually think I learned more things because of ADS than because of school.

8. There are people who read my blog.

Again, thank you so much for reading my blog!

9. I am on the right path.

When I was looking for a job, I had one goal in mind: I will be employed in an industry that is related to writing. I got a job in Summit Media’s Female Network. I get to write and edit stuff, so I’m on the right track. Check out my staff blog “The Self-Help Junkie.”

10. In terms of health, I’m pretty good.

11. I’m still in touch with my childhood friends.

I met PJAM when we were 11 years old, and up to now we’re still the best of friends.

12. I had a great childhood.

13. High school was awesome.

14. I love the Philippines.

I love living here. I see so much beauty and so much potential in my country. I want to learn more about my culture and my people, and I want to continue discovering my Filipino identity. I went to the U.S. to chase the American dream, but I decided to go back. There’s a reason why I grew up in this country, and I think this is where I’m supposed to be.

15. I respect and love my body.

I think I’m pretty. Hahaha.

16. I know what I believe in.

17. I discovered positive thinking.

18. I have a good sense of humor, and I can inject humor in my writing.

More Fun Stories:

19. I was able to break out from my shyness.

20. I’ve grown more confident about my singing.

Besides writing, I’ve also loved singing ever since I was a kid. I think I got it from my grandma because she is a singer, and I got the writing thing from my mom. I still have so many blank tapes where I recorded myself singing my favorite songs and the original songs that I’ve composed. I’ve been writing songs ever since I was eleven, and I have over 200 finished and unfinished songs. As of right now, I make videos for my friends where I sing these songs, and I post it in our secret Facebook group. They seem to like it, and one of my friends said that I should post it here on my blog. I wish I’ll be confident enough someday to share my love for music with you guys.

21. I’ve become happier.

I used to be a really emo kid, and I grew up to have a sort of dismal view on life. Up until a few years ago, I was still a highly negative thinker. Then, I read this book called The Secret, and it changed my perspective on things. Of course other events in my life prepared me to become receptive to that aha moment, but it was that book that made me realize that I can change the way I think. In one of Oprah’s shows, she said, “You don’t know you’re depressed until you’re not.” I don’t think I was depressed, but I didn’t realize how miserable I was until I wasn’t. There was no reason why I was miserable. I had a happy childhood, my family loved me, my friends loved me, and I had a lot of things about myself that I could be proud of, but somehow that wasn’t enough. When I realized that I had the power to choose happiness over misery, I was able to free myself from the chains of negative thought.

22. We’re ok financially.

My family is not rich, and I just got my first job, so the pay isn’t a million bucks, but we’re not starving. I’m good.

23. I can express myself through art.

I have a very visual and creative side. I don’t know how to draw, and I don’t plan to learn how to draw because I plan to be a writer not a visual artist, but I do enjoy drawing. I can do abstract drawing and child-like scrawls.

24. I was born during the age of the internet.

You can learn so many things through the internet. It increases the access to knowledge because if you really want to learn, and you don’t have money to pay for classes, you have a wealth of knowledge just waiting to be searched. Although, I was disappointed to find out that Google is filtering our searches, I still think that the filter of wealth is a bigger hindrance to acquiring knowledge, so we’ve come a long way still.

25. I discovered social media.

I love Facebook, and there’s so much that you can gain if you use Facebook in a smart way. This powerful social networking tool can help you connect with friends and family, and it can also help you learn lot of things.

26. I read “How to Steal Like an Artist.”

27. I watched this really inspirational movie called 3 Idiots.

I am so inspired by the character Rancho.

28. I can write faster.

In the past, every writing session was an agonizing experience. I am so grateful that my friend Ava recommended me the book Wild Mind by Natalie Goldberg and that I found out about the book The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron through one of my favorite teachers Sir Ypil (Poetry teacher). This helps me in my job because in digital media I am expected to work fast. I can still improve, but I’ve definitely gotten better at writing fast.

29. I graduated.

30. I graduated Cum Laude.

31. I received the Creative Writing Program Award.

32. I have lots of interests and ideas.

33. I discovered creative non-fiction.

34. Fiction.

35. Poetry.

I don’t know much about poetry, and I’m still trying to learn, but I do like reading and writing poems sometimes. I still prefer reading and writing fiction and non-fiction over poetry. My favorite poet is Emily Dickinson.

36. I got a diary during my ballet Christmas party.

When I was in grade three, there was this exchange gifts thing in my ballet class Christmas party. I got a pretty diary, and I got obsessed about it. Each diary has a name, table of contents, page numbers, volume number, and a title for every entry. I keep a diary up until this day.

37. We have our own house.

We used to rent apartments, and we would transfer every two years or so. Now we have our own house, and I love it.

38. Movies.

39. Music.

40. Musicals.

41. Books.

42. Second hand books.

I can buy more books if they are cheaper, so hooray for second hand books!

43. I was a weird kid.

Now I have fun stories to tell about Little Ja!

44. I can get thin fast.

Exercising for 10-15 minutes everyday is enough for me to get thin.

45. Aircon busses

I love riding aircon busses. I love looking out the window and seeing things pass by. I get lots of ideas whenever I look out of a bus’ window.

46. Inspiring quotes.

47. Pinterest.

I pin pretty pictures, interesting articles, and stuff I want to read and watch later.

48. My awesome laptop!

49. We have a scanner!

I can now scan all my pictures especially my baby pictures. Yey!

50. I’ve already absofuckinloutely fallen in love.

I’ve had lots of crushes, but I’ve only fallen in love once. Things didn’t work out, but that’s ok. At least I discovered that I could feel that much for someone.

51. I got to travel.

Debate allowed me to travel to Canada, Turkey, Malaysia (several times), Thailand (several times), Bangladesh, and Indonesia. For most of these tournaments, I was fully subsidized by the Ateneo Debate Society. I was also sent to Davao and Cagayan de Oro (twice) to teach debate, and Iligan to judge a debate tournament. I’ve also traveled to New York, Las Vegas, California, and Bermuda.

52. Dictionary.

53. Thesaurus.

54. English-Tagalog Dictionary.

55. My artist and writer friends.

They continue to inspire me, and we continue to support each other so that we can all turn our dreams into reality.

56. Going on vacation.

57. Japanese food.

I love sushi! I love all kinds of Japanese food! Pinaglihi ako sa Japanese food.

58. I’m a nice person.

I’m not perfect, but I think I’m pretty decent.

59. My mother never forced me to do something I didn’t want to do.

Making my own decisions is something I learned early in life.

60. I’ve always stood for honesty and integrity.

61. I read The Secret.

62. I read The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin.

63. Crafts.

64. I’m learning how to cook now.

65. Photography.

66. Debate taught me how to think logically.

67. I learned the art of public speaking.

68. Debate taught me to stand up for my principles.

69. Debate stressed the importance of an informed choice.

70. Debate taught me that reality is complex and so are people.

If we jump to conclusions right away, we might form opinions that aren’t fair to the people involved and that take a myopic view of the situation at hand. Debate taught me to be less judgmental and to take everything into consideration first before I make my mind up about an issue or about a person.

71. I am brave.

72. Buko juice is in abundance.

I only need to walk a short distance, and I can get to buy buko juice that’s in an actual buko. I don’t like drinking buko juice if it’s not in an actual buko.

73. I can speak Taglish everyday.

I have two languages at my disposal whenever I need to say something. It’s easier to speak when there are so many words to choose from.

74. Filipino jokes.

Filipino humor is just amazing. People who don’t understand Filipino language and culture are missing out, big time.

75. My morning pages and free writing.

I learned this from The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. I do three pages of free writing everyday (sometimes I don’t have time, but I try to do it everyday). It helps clear my mind and opens me up to new ideas. Think of it as erasing old files in your computer and making space for new files to be stored.

76.  Libraries.

I love libraries. I’m so glad that Summit Media has its own library. It’s small, but it has lots of cool books. Outsiders can use the library, but they have to pay a fee. Only employees can take the books out of the library.

77. My favorite mall.

78. My second favorite mall.

79. My third favorite mall.

80. Cubao X has awesome second hand bookstores.

81. 168 Divisoria shopping mall.

82. J.K. Rowling wrote Harry Potter.

83. Karaoke.

84. Christmas and gift giving.

I love buying gifts for other people.

85. I live in a walking friendly neighborhood.

86. Lechon.

87. Kalderetang Kambing.

88. Pandesal.

89. My cute doggies and kitties.

90. Freebies and discounts I get from my job.

91. Parks.

92. Places to jog.

93. Memories.

94. Pleasant people.

95. Filipino desserts are awesome!

I love flying saucers, leche flan, palitao, sinuknani, espasol, ginataan with bilo-bilo, sapin-sapin, bibingka, puto bumbong, etc.

96. Rice.

97. Shopping Centers.

98. Leftovers.

99. Dancing.

I can’t do steps, but I enjoy moving my body to the beat. During holidays with my family, especially during Christmas, we put on some music, and we dance.

100.  Dreams and make believe.

Imagination is everything. Possibilities breed in abundance, and happiness quickly follows suit.

How about you,

what are you thankful for?

Leave a comment below.

More Happiness and Inspiration:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com. 

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

6 thoughts on “100 Things that I’m Thankful For

  1. This list is incredible. I read every single one and am inspired by your change! It can be difficult to be shy then be on a debate team but you took great things out of it! I look forward to reading more by you!

    Like

    1. I am so happy you liked my post. I really want more people to know about my story because I want to inspire everyone to be the best that they can be. Thank you so much for your kind words. Now you’ve given me more reasons to keep on writing. 🙂

      Like

  2. Remember when my bucket list made you want to have 1 too? :p Well, this post of yours has inspired me to officially create a public blog I’m starting today! 😀

    & from now on (like you said), may we continue being braver, happier, & free-er! xD

    Like

Leave a Reply

