The Philippine Love Affair with Bacteria-Filled Milk

Many Filipinos love drinking Yakult, which is fermented milk mixed with 8 billion live lactobacillus shirota strain.These bacteria are supposedly good for your tummy, and it is even the main selling point of Yakult’s advertisements. This isn’t the reason why I drink Yakult though. I just like it because it tastes good.

Some people don’t like Yakult because it smells bad. The technique to appreciating Yakult is to drink it, not smell it. It’s liquid people, and liquid is not made for nasal consumption.

In the past, I’ve wondered why they didn’t make Yakult in large bottles. Then, I read an article that said that if Yakult came in larger bottles, there would be a tendency for people to not finish the contents and leave the bottle open. Once the bottle was left open, the good bacteria would turn into bad bacteria. To avoid this, Yakult opted for smaller bottles.

These small bottles do not satisfy my thirst for Yakult, so what I do is I buy a whole pack and drink them all up.

How about you? Do you like Yakult too? Please leave a comment below!

More Philippines:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com.

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

All the opinions expressed in this page and in this blog are my own and do not represent the official stances of the companies, institutions, and organizations that I am affiliated with. I am a person. I’m not just a manifestation of corporate interests. I have an identity that is separate from my company because even if human beings are paid for a service by corporations, human beings are not owned by corporations. 

6 thoughts on “The Philippine Love Affair with Bacteria-Filled Milk

  1. I love Yakult too. When I was in college, I make it a point to buy at least bottles of Yakult everyday. hihih! And I really don’t care about the weird stares I get from people while downing it in the hallway. And like you, I’ve wondered and wished that Yakult would manufacture larger bottles and now I know why. Thank you! :DD and ditto on Yakult is not for nasal consumption! HAHAH! 😀

  2. I live in Florida and some time I ago I went to Boca Raton (a city in South Florida, north of Ft. Lauderdale). They have a big Brazilian population. And one day I found myself wandering into a Brazilian grocery and in the dairy section what did I find? Yakult!!! This is something I haven’t seen here in Florida and the last time I had one was before I left Manila in 1994. Same bottle, different label. When I asked a girl who works at the grocery what they called it she answered….”Yakultz”. Bought a “six pack” and drank it all in 15 minutes with the Yakult theme music playing in my head).

Leave a Reply

