La Usurpadora Beauty, La Usurpadora Personality

When I was a kid, I wished I was born beautiful. Since I thought my genes had forsaken me, I had to find another way to transform from an ugly duckling into a swan. I had this crazy idea that imitating the personalities of beautiful people will do the trick. I don’t know why I thought of that, but that led me to imitate characters in cartoons and telenovelas.

You must be thinking that I was one of those kids who played with her mother’s make-up, but I wasn’t. Finding a sailor moon lipstick palette in the balikbayan box didn’t even excite me. I didn’t want to paint on beauty; I wanted real beauty.

All Nice-d up and Pretty

My first beauty idol was Cinderella from the anime TV show from ABS-CBN. She was a good person, so I thought that if I were as nice as her, then I would become beautiful. I began being sweet and kind to others, then, slowly, I saw the potent effects reflected on my mirror.

It worked, Little Ja thought, I was beautiful.

Cruella de Beautiful

I was content with my new beauty regimen, that is until I watched the telenovela La Usurpadora. It’s a story about twins who were separated at birth. Although they had the same physical features, I thought that the evil twin was more beautiful than the good twin. This made me think, So when you’re good, you become beautiful, but when you’re evil, you become even more beautiful. So I started training myself to be a snob.

It worked, Little Ja thought, I was even more beautiful.

Why was I such a weird kid?

More Weird Kid stories:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com.

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

All the opinions expressed in this page and in this blog are my own and do not represent the official stances of the companies, institutions, and organizations that I am affiliated with. I am a person. I’m not just a manifestation of corporate interests. I have an identity that is separate from my company because even if human beings are paid for a service by corporations, human beings are not owned by corporations. 

Leave a Reply

