You’re Not a Newbie; You’re a Rising Star

“You should project yourself as a rising star,” my mom said.

I don’t know why I’ve become small, meek, laughing at everything that doesn’t need to be laughed at, conciliatory, afraid. I’ve been thrown into this wild sea, and I’m questioning whether I’m the right fish to swim in it.

But I am. I’ve been writing ever since I was eleven. I know my shit. I’ve been playing with words even before I read a book that advised me to play with words. Innovative writing was instinctual. I don’t know why, but I’ve always been like that.

I practice regularly. I try to publish almost everyday in this blog, but when I can’t, I make sure I still write something. I do my morning pages, which are three intermediate-pad-sized pages full of scribbles. I do writing challenges, I experiment in poetry, I dabble in fiction. I know my shit.

I am intelligent. I read a lot of books, and I do a lot of thinking. I’ve been an honor student ever since I was a kid. More time and more experience will make me more secure, but I don’t want to wait. I guess I just have to fake it till I make it, and the faking starts today.

More Happiness and Inspiration:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com.

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

All the opinions expressed in this page and in this blog are my own and do not represent the official stances of the companies, institutions, and organizations that I am affiliated with. I am a person. I’m not just a manifestation of corporate interests. I have an identity that is separate from those companies and other entities because even if human beings are paid for a service by corporations, human beings are not owned by corporations.

4 thoughts on “You’re Not a Newbie; You’re a Rising Star

  1. Great advice from your Mom! You are a writer. You have so many great ideas on your blog.

    I am also a writer but until the last several years, I did not have time to pursue writing as a profession due to my full time job, yet I never stopped writing everyday. I now have time to research about how to promote what I write. I have received a lot of good tips from World Wide Freelance website and their newsletter. Elance has yet to come up with that one gig that I would like to follow up with, although I receive email from them daily about job recommendations. Yahoo accepts articles from writers, who are not famous or official reporters. Yahoo Contributor Network is a good starting place. It is all about exposure of your writing. The more the better.

    I can write about many different topics, based on personal experience and knowledge concerning diverse subject material, but writing just for the sake of making tons of money for someone else, when I am not even interested in the topic, is not my cup of tea. I am not a prostituted writer willing to sell my service to just anyone for a cause or product that I do not believe in. No way.

    Your mom is right! You are a rising star. All of us who read your blog know that you are a writer.

    ~ Gary ~

    Like

Leave a Reply

