I Love Kalachuchi Flowers

Kalachuchi flowers symbolize death, but that’s not what I see when I’m looking at these white, yellow, or pink fragrant flowers. Instead, they trigger memories of my childhood. I loved climbing the Kalachuchi trees because unlike the coconut tree, they had branches, and unlike the mango tree, they don’t grow that high and the branches are not too thick, and unlike the kamias tree, they only had a few ants instead of a thousand.

Besides the ants, the only downside to climbing the kalachuchi tree is the dagta or the white tree sap that lola said can cause blindness if it gets into one’s eyes. I never checked the scientific basis of this claim, but I climbed that tree with caution, intently looking at the white sap, afraid but totally convinced that keeping an eye on it will keep it in its place.

I was totally shocked when my mother told me that the kalachuchi is the flower of death. Now I know that this sweet-smelling flower is often sprinkled on coffins to mask the rotting odor of the dead person. During that time though, I had never seen a funeral that used kalachuchi flowers. Maybe that’s why I never formed that association.

For me, the kalachuchi flower is a flower of innocence, of bliss, and of happy days when I used to climb trees.

For more weird kid stories, check out these links:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com.

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

All the opinions expressed in this page and in this blog are my own and do not represent the official stances of the companies, institutions, and organizations that I am affiliated with. I am a person. I’m not just a manifestation of corporate interests. I have an identity that is separate from my company because even if human beings are paid for a service by corporations, human beings are not owned by corporations.


4 thoughts on “I Love Kalachuchi Flowers

      1. I pick one wherever I see it. It always reminds me of how my relationship have wonderfully grown. It has become more meaningful to me when I read Robert A. Johnson’s book “We: The Psychology of Romantic Love.” Johnson gave a Jungian interpretation of the legend of Tristan and Isolde. Tristan’s mother, Blanchfleur, whose name means “white flower,” was symbolic of the feminine psyche. Johnson didn’t mention any particular flower, but since I’m into understanding the sacred feminine and we love white kalachuchi, the insight was just amazingly synchronistic.

Leave a Reply

