People Don’t Buy What You Do; They Buy Why You Do It

I was on a Ted Talks binge one day (I love Ted Talks!) when I stumbled upon Simon Sinek’s talk “Start With Why”. One line struck me and that was–People don’t buy what you do; they buy why you do it.

He analyzed great leaders including my favorite company Apple (under Steve Jobs. Yes he had a bad temper, but I admire his visionary side not his mean side). Mr. Sinek explained that unlike other computer companies, Apple doesn’t market their products by starting with what but why. Apple doesn’t say, Look we have a great computer. Instead they say, We believe in challenging the status quo. We believe in thinking differently. The way we do that is by creating great computers.

More Happiness and Inspiration:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com.

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

All the opinions expressed in this page and in this blog are my own and do not represent the official stances of the companies, institutions, and organizations that I am affiliated with. I am a person. I’m not just a manifestation of corporate interests. I have an identity that is separate from my company because even if human beings are paid for a service by corporations, human beings are not owned by corporations. 

Leave a Reply

