High School Play: Heroic Vandal (Scene 14: Anwaar and the King)

To start from the first scene, click here.

Click here to go to the previous scenes.

Note: In celebration of women’s month, I decided to post this play that I wrote when I was in second year high school. My groupmates helped me come up with ideas, but I was the one who was largely responsible for the conceptualization of the story and the writing of the script. In this play, I talk about two sisters who are awoken to the plight of women and are moved to fight oppression. I also slightly touch upon the issue of honor killings, specifically how raped women (usually in the Middle East) are killed because they have brought “dishonor” to their family. Our group was assigned to write about Pakistan, but in this script, I changed the name of the country into a fictional country because the depiction of this world is not an accurate depiction of Pakistan. I also changed “Allah” to “Azlah” because the god described in this story and the religious practices depicted are not accurate depictions of the Muslim faith.

Scene 14: The king is in one of the rooms of his palace. He is with General Najiya, Anwaar, and a guard. Anwaar’s hands are tied behind her back.)

General Najiya: Your highness, I bring to you the new vandal, but my soldiers weren’t able to capture her comrades.

King: Do not be ashamed, General Najiya, for I see in you such remarkable loyalty. Rest assured that you would be rewarded for this. You are dismissed.

General Najiya: Thank you, your highness.

(General Najiya turns to Anwaar.)

General Najiya: Forgive me, my dear. You know I love you.

Anwaar: Traitors do not love, father. Sadly, you’ve become one of them.

(General Najiya doesn’t reply. He exits.)

King: (To the guard) Leave us.

(The guard exits. King takes out his sword and begins to examine it.)

King: So, we meet again. You have been caught in the act, my dear. What have you got to say for yourself? Your sister already shamed your family, and here you are committing the same offense.

Anwaar: You speak as though my sister did a hideous crime.

King: Of course she did. She insulted the dignity of men.

Anwaar: But aren’t you doing the same thing? You step on the dignity of women.

King: Women are of low class. They must be used to a lower kind of treatment.

Anwaar: Azlah has made us. Azlah created us. Azlah does not make mistakes when he creates beings. We must have been created for a purpose and that purpose is to share the same dignity that is given to men.

(King, looking livid, thrusts the sword just inches away from Anwaar’s neck.)

King: Woman, how dare you use Azlah’s name! You shall be killed for doing such!

Anwaar: Kill? Kill? Kill? Is that all you do. Go on! Kill me! But you shall never kill my soul, for my legacy shall live forever. Eventually more women will wake up, and they will fight you. Then you shall suffer.

King: You dare threaten me, your king?

Anwaar: Why are you scared?

King: Scared? Don’t be silly.

Anwaar: Yes you are not scared, for you are terrified. All men are also terrified. They are terrified of women’s power, so they cage us thinking we shall falter. You men might have been successful in the past, but now, we shall no longer take such offense.

King: I am not scared of you.

Anwaar: Really, o great one? Tell that to me straight in the eye. You can’t, can you?

(The king thrusts his sword again near Anwaar’s neck, moving forward as he speaks. Anwaar backs away from the sword.)

King: What do you want, woman? What is the purpose of these acts of vandalism?

Anwaar: What I want is equality. From now on, you must treat women equal to men.

(The king puts down the sword.)

King: What you are asking is impossible.

Anwaar: Your highness can do the impossible. I know it. Do what I say and you shall be remembered as a great king, a king who was wise enough to let justice flourish. If you pretend to be deaf to the cries of women, it shall bring you to your ruin.

King: Guards!

(Guards enter. They surround Anwaar, blocking the audience’s view.)

King: Kill her!

(Lights go out. Anwaar screams.)

(Lights open. Anwaar is alone lying on the floor. She is dead. Servants enter and they go to Anwaar. They are crying. Narrator enters.)

Narrator: But the king did not listen. He ordered Anwaar to be killed. Although Anwaar’s story comes to a bitter end, because of her and her sister, other women became empowered. Soon a new light shed over Ashtan (Servants begin to rise with a look of triumph in their faces.), and equality came at last.

The end!

Thanks for reading!

For all posts about Heroic Vandal click here.

More Analyze This Category:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com. 

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

Leave a Reply

