The First Time I Tried Performance Poetry at Sev’s Cafe: What It Means When We Disrespect You (Video)

I don’t know what got into me, but when I heard about Sev’s Cafe and that they had open mic for performance poetry, I just wanted to do it. I’ve been watching performance poetry on YouTube and I found them so fascinating. Some of my favorites are Neil Hilborn’s OCDDesireé Dallagiacomo and Kaycee Filson’s Real Sex TipsDesireé Dallagiacomo & Justin Lamb’s The Friend Zone, and a story by Micaela Blei.

I wanted to perform, but I thought I didn’t have a piece. Good thing I decided to look through this blog, and I saw my old piece, What It Means When We Disrespect You. I totally forgot that it existed!

So, after watching Sev’s performance poetry on a Wednesday, I came back on Saturday (the event was organized by White Wall Poetry), and oh my god, there were so many people! The Wednesday crowd was probably just around 10 people, but the Saturday audience was like massive. When it was my turn to perform, there were probably around 30 to 40 people in the audience. Yet, I did not panic. What calmed me was that I kept saying to myself, It doesn’t need to be perfect, you just have to do it. And so I did, and I’m so proud of myself! I don’t know where this will lead me, but this is definitely the start of something new.

Here’s the video and below are the words of the poem:

What It Means When We Disrespect You
by Age of the Diary

This is what it means when we disrespect you,
When we step on your toes,
When we keep you in the dark,
When we mislead you and tell you it’s yours when we’re taking it away,
Because you were never good enough,
Because someone else is just so much better, okay?
But don’t think of that as a bad reflection on you,
See it as a challenge,
A challenge to live up to our unrealistic expectations.

This is what it means when we disrespect you,
We’re not thinking about you,
So please stop it with your feelings,
Why should we even consider our action’s impact on you?
We just want the best from you,
And if that best can come out from emotional torture,
Then we say it came out beautifully, didn’t it?

This is what it means when we disrespect you,
When we shove you in a corner,
When we exclude you from our world,
You should never retaliate,
Because any hate from you we’ll consider immature,
We’ll consider as a signal for us to tell you that because of your hissy fit you’ll never get any help from us,
You little shit,
You little shit.

This is what it means when we disrespect you,
When we don’t listen to you,
When we gang up on you,
When we put you in your place,
You’re good,
We believe in you,
We like you,
It’s over,
So just move on, okay?

More Poems:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com.

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

All the opinions expressed in this page and in this blog are my own and do not represent the official stances of the companies, institutions, and organizations that I am affiliated with. I am a person. I’m not just a manifestation of corporate interests. I have an identity that is separate from my company because even if human beings are paid for a service by corporations, human beings are not owned by corporations.

Leave a Reply

