Elon Musk learned complicated things through textbooks

I am almost done reading Elon Musk: Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future by Ashlee Vance. It’s interesting, but sometimes the writing is irksome. Then again, so far, the things I’m learning from it outweigh the bad. One cool thing I learned was that before he went into the rocket-making business through SpaceX, Musk only knew how to code as he came from PayPal and other internet companies. He then turned to textbooks to read about rockets and talked to people in that industry. After a visit to Russia, he made an entire spread sheet detailing how their team will make a rocket and the cost that it will take to make it. His colleagues were impressed. “Where did you get this, Elon?” they asked. He figured it all out by reading books and talking to people.

My take away from this is not, omg Elon Musk is such a genius, but I’m more like, omg if he can learn rockets from a textbook, I can learn anything! My faith in books has been validated again! This is encouraging as I am overwhelmed by how expensive digital marketing courses are. I’ve actually started thinking about getting a job in digital marketing so that instead of paying for a course, I can learn on the job and get paid. Anyway, that’s another plan, but the learn-through-books plan sounds good too. I guess I underestimated how much one can learn from determinedly studying things on your own. Now I know better. Watch out world; I’m here to learn!

More Education and Learning:

More Blog, Social Media, and Techie Stuff:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com.

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

All the opinions expressed in this page and in this blog are my own and do not represent the official stances of the companies, institutions, and organizations that I am affiliated with. I am a person. I’m not just a manifestation of corporate interests. I have an identity that is separate from my company because even if human beings are paid for a service by corporations, human beings are not owned by corporations. 

Leave a Reply

