Sharing even though you’re not talented enough

When I started uploading my original songs in this blog, I knew that my voice wasn’t perfect and so was my songwriting skills, but I thought, this is what I’ve got so far, and whatever, maybe some people will like them. Who knows? I guess this blog has taught me that it’s ok to share what I can do even if I’m not sure about the amount of talent that I have. This belief was recently reinforced when I read Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us by Seth Godin.

I liked the part where he said, “Quality is only not necessary, for many items it’s undesirable…More fashion=less quality. Perfect is an illusion, one that was created to maintain the status quo…Change means reinvention, and until something is reinvented, we have no idea what the spec is.”

What does this mean for me? I’m not saying that my singing is reinvention, but it is new to me, and so I don’t know what the specs for this should be. I don’t know how to judge it or where it should go. So maybe I should just keep producing, and maybe I’ll learn through that process or at least enjoy the experience of expressing myself.

Sharing what I have so far can also lead me to find communities, and then they’ll help me improve my craft, or maybe they’ll simply accept me for what I can do. I don’t have to be a star; I just want to continue doing what I can do and learning more things about that process.

If I’m not talented enough to be a good singer, how can I inject “fashion” so that the singing can have another kind of value other than the pure quality of the notes? How can I inject “fashion” to my songs so that even if I never studied how to properly write a song, I can still produce something that will affect people? How can I do this given what I already have?

More Happiness and Inspiration:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com.

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

All the opinions expressed in this page and in this blog are my own and do not represent the official stances of the companies, institutions, and organizations that I am affiliated with. I am a person. I’m not just a manifestation of corporate interests. I have an identity that is separate from my company because even if human beings are paid for a service by corporations, human beings are not owned by corporations. 

2 thoughts on “Sharing even though you’re not talented enough

  1. “I don’t have to be a star; I just want to continue doing what I can do and learning more things about that process.”

    –i love this line. it’s very inspiring ‘coz it can be applied to any of our pursuits in life, creative or not. at the end of the day, it’s all about learning and learning about ourselves in the process.

    Like

Leave a Reply

