Books that had a lasting impact on my life (Book 1: 7 Habits)

Several books have changed the way I think and live. This is a first of a series of posts where I will talk about these books and what I have learned from them.

Time management trick: what’s urgent vs. what’s important

As I discussed in The Time Management Matrix that Saved Me from 16-Hour Work Days, I was unnecessarily overworking before I read The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. CoveyThe pile of work even prevented me from reading books, a really important activity for a writer, and ironically, it prevented me from devoting time to writing itself. As Stephen King said, one time he realized that he was becoming a professional e-mailer than a writer. Such is life when you get sucked up into busyness. So what was keeping me busy? I was caught up things like answering e-mail, transferring press kit cd contents to my computer, filing away the press kit papers, etc., which I all felt were “urgent” things.

However, after reading that book, I realized that I should prioritize what’s important even though it’s not urgent, and then minimize the time devoted to the urgent but not important stuff. If I have to do the latter, then I should batch them, which means to devote a specific chunk of time to do them all in one go as oppose to letting them interrupt and break my concentration while I am doing the important tasks.

I’m glad to announce that this year I was able to read 24 books from January to August. I was supposed to copy Mark Zuckerberg’s 24 books a year, but I exceeded it. Some books though turned out to be boring so I skipped a lot of pages and maybe that’s the reason why my reading sped up. Still, I’m reading lots of books now and this will inevitably improve my writing.

More Music TV Movies Books:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com.

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

All the opinions expressed in this page and in this blog are my own and do not represent the official stances of the companies, institutions, and organizations that I am affiliated with. I am a person. I’m not just a manifestation of corporate interests. I have an identity that is separate from my company because even if human beings are paid for a service by corporations, human beings are not owned by corporations. 

Leave a Reply

