Today in personal hypocrisy: not paying for art that comforts me

A few months ago I was feeling bad and so I began to listen to Gwen Stefani’s album This is What the Truth Feels Like on Spotify, and of course I was listening for free. I realized how much it helped me get through the tough days. Initially, I didn’t have a problem with listening to Spotify. I like getting things for free, and of course I had an excuse. I was listening to this album for free (and doing other similar things like downloading torrents, etc) because I am poor and I have no money to buy the album. But now I am feeling guilty that I am not paying for art that comforts me.

Not paying for art can mean that I am not recognizing that it has value, that it actually contributed to my personal well-being. I pay for doctors when they help me with my physical illnesses, but when I need art to recuperate emotionally, I do not pay.

So what triggered this thought? Weirdly, it was a video of John Oliver when he was talking about journalism. Ok journalism isn’t art (or I guess it is in a way that it is a form of writing?). Anyway, there’s a line that he said that struck me: “If we are not willing to pay for our journalism, we are going to pay for it”.

If we are not willing to pay for art, and we continue to starve our artists, there will be a point when it will be too much for them and they will need to quit or lessen creating art, and then we will be the ones starving from quality art. We will eventually pay for our callous disregard. I realized this, so when am I going to stop being a hypocrite?

More Analyze This:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com.

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

All the opinions expressed in this page and in this blog are my own and do not represent the official stances of the companies, institutions, and organizations that I am affiliated with. I am a person. I’m not just a manifestation of corporate interests. I have an identity that is separate from my company because even if human beings are paid for a service by corporations, human beings are not owned by corporations. 

Leave a Reply

