Submit 100 Times a Year

Last September, I read an article about why you should aim for 100 rejections a year (click here to read a previous post that I wrote about it). If you submit that many times to different publications and writing residencies, then you will get a lot of rejections but it will also increase your chances of getting accepted. I was only able to submit to 4 such opportunities and I got rejected in all of them. Somehow though, it felt really good because I’m finally trying to get my work out there. One said that I should send them another piece. This year, I plan to complete that 100 submissions, and to help me do that, I customized a page in my planner.

Planners usually start with a few useless pages which lists airport abbreviations, maps, world information, and even things like birthstones and flowers. So I decided to paste stationary papers over two of those pages, then on top of the pages I wrote “Submitted”, and then I wrote down 1 to 100. In this way, whenever I open my planner, I will see this list and remember that I have to submit.

Watch out for more posts on Awesome Failure.

More Writing Exercises:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com.

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

All the opinions expressed in this page and in this blog are my own and do not represent the official stances of the companies, institutions, and organizations that I am affiliated with. I am a person. I’m not just a manifestation of corporate interests. I have an identity that is separate from my company because even if human beings are paid for a service by corporations, human beings are not owned by corporations.

Leave a Reply

