Trying to stop buying too many books

I love books, but I think I buy too many. Right now I have 52 unread books on my bookshelf. I actually have more than that, but the ones that have been unread for a year or more, I’ve already placed in my pile of books to sell. I did this because Marie Kondo’s The Life Changing Magic of Tidying Up said: if you haven’t read that book in a year, you never willWhen I read that, I was shocked, but at the same time, I realized, she was right. So I cleaned out my books.

Though I am pleased with my progress, I want to hit a better target. Gretchen Rubin’s Happiness Project said that she aims for five unread books at a time. Five? That sounds impossible! I’m trying though. I already banned myself from entering bookstores, but sometimes I just can’t resist. Sometimes I also worry that what if I can’t find a copy of that book anymore, so I have to buy it now, now, now! Ok, this is unhealthy.

Another thing I realized is that buying too many books is a sign of intellectual insecurity. My excuse the whole time for my book buying sprees is that I love books. But even if I love books, I don’t need to have 52 possible books to read at every given time. That’s excessive. The truth is I feel smart by buying books. The truth is I’m medicating (see Humans of New York post by a guy who advises “Never medicate”). I feel bad that day, so I buy books. When things don’t go well, I buy books. It’s like an addiction, but, lucky for me, the objects that I want to buy are legal. Still, it has it downside. The unread books take too much space in my room and of course they are wrecking my finances. I have to stop. How will I stop?

More posts on Minimalism:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com.

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

All the opinions expressed in this page and in this blog are my own and do not represent the official stances of the companies, institutions, and organizations that I am affiliated with. I am a person. I’m not just a manifestation of corporate interests. I have an identity that is separate from my company because even if human beings are paid for a service by corporations, human beings are not owned by corporations. 

2 thoughts on “Trying to stop buying too many books

  1. I hear you! I love surrounding myself with books. And while I admitted that they were a sort of shield, I hadn’t thought of them as intellectual insecurity. That one stung, so it was needed.
    If these tips help: I could NOT get rid of most of my books, even the ones I haven’t read in a year. I packed away the books that I have read and want to keep, and left on the shelves the books that were unread. Then I went on a book-shopping ban until I finish the unread books. Haven’t gotten there yet. When I absolutely need the book fix, I go to the library. It doesn’t cost anything as long as they’re returned on time.
    Good luck!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

