My Audacious Life Plans As Of Right Now (2017)

*Note: This came from a writing exercise from What Color is Your Parachute? by Richard Nelson Bolles. The instruction was to write about what kind of job you’d want if you could have any job in the world. Instead of one job, I thought of several. I realized that this was very much like my Life Plans series (My Life Plans As of Right Now (2012)Life Plans Progress Report (2014)My Life Plans as of Right Now (2015 version)My Life Plans as of Right Now (2016)Rereading My Diary For Year End Insights (2016)), but maybe it’s a little more ambitious, hence the title*

If I could have any job in the world, I would want to have a regular improv acting job. My group and I perform weekly at a small cafe with a friendly crowd. Each member is paid a fixed talent fee by the restaurant, given a percentage of the ticket sales, and are fed for free. We also go abroad to perform in international festivals and other venues. All expenses are paid (food, transportation, accommodations) , we are given pocket money, and are paid for our performance. During the trip abroad, there is at least one free day for us to shop and our hosts also gladly tour us around the sights in their city.

Every now and then, I will head corporate trainings where I teach improv. These trainings can sometimes be out of town so I get to travel for free. All expenses are paid, and we are also paid for teaching.

I have weekly writing workshops, which is a cross between a self-help session and a personal essay writing workshop. I don’t need to give grades. I just give comments to the participants.

I have several shops that sell different things like crafty merchandise, books and zines I wrote (I write books on Philippine psychology, politics, personal essays, etc), and politically-charged merchandise (like t-shirts with feminist slogans and stuff, our shop tagline “You are part of the movement”, “Piso para sa kalayaan”, or something about how they can use their own money to subsidize and strengthen the movement or each person has a stake, something like that). I join local and international bazaars to sell my merchandise.

I do political comedy and run an ACLU-ish organization for the Philippines. We have lawyers, philosophers, activists, scientists, artists, academicians, etc., who work together to secure our democracy.

I make inspirational TED Talks, and I travel across the Philippines to give such talks.

I have several local and international investments, and I regularly donate to charity.

I have several sources of income. In total, I earn P50,000 a month.

More Goals and Dreams:

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com.

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.

All the opinions expressed in this page and in this blog are my own and do not represent the official stances of the companies, institutions, and organizations that I am affiliated with. I am a person. I’m not just a manifestation of corporate interests. I have an identity that is separate from my company because even if human beings are paid for a service by corporations, human beings are not owned by corporations. 

Leave a Reply

