My Super Early Morning Routine

I wake up in the morning everyday at 5 a.m. Sometimes I do this because I need to finish something for work, but even if it’s not necessary to wake up early, I still get up at 5 a.m. I wasn’t always like this. I used to be a sleepyhead who slept until noon during weekends and the summer. After I graduated, I decided to train myself to wake up early because I didn’t want to waste the day. I also knew that this habit will come in handy someday. Now I don’t need an alarm clock to wake up, but I still set my phone on alarm just in case. Sometimes I sleep until late, or I wake up earlier like at 3 a.m. I can do this even if I slept at 12 midnight or was even drunk the night before.

I started to love mornings. There’s something so peaceful about it. I discovered that I was more productive in the mornings. I used to think that I was more of a night person, but now that has changed. Below are the things I do when I wake up.

1. WORK

One of the things I do as an editorial assistant is to post video articles to Hootsuite before 8 a.m. I also catch up on some work when I need to.

2. HEALTH ROUTINE

I drink my medicine the minute I wake up because I can only eat one hour after. Then, I exercise using the jumprope. I plan to add crunches to my everyday exercise routine, but as of right now it’s just the jumprope. At least it gets my heart racing, and I read somewhere that this is good for your body. I also drink two glasses of water.

3. BATH ROUTINE

When I wake up, I plug in the water heater, which takes an hour to get the water hot. When I’m done eating and stuff, I take a bath.

4. EARLY MORNING POWER NAP

Sometimes I sleep again for ten minutes.

5. BLOG

I write my blog in the morning, but I don’t publish it. I have to give myself some time away from what I’ve written so that I can look at it with fresh eyes when I revise. Sometimes I don’t catch certain errors, so I routinely re-check and update my old entries every now and then. I hope to become better at editing through constant practice.

6. FACEBOOK

When I have time, I give myself 30 minutes to check my Facebook. I read several interesting articles that my friends or that the pages that I subscribed to post, then I pin the articles I want to read for later on Pinterest. I also catch up with my friends by commenting on their statuses. Gathering new information and strengthening my personal relationships are two things that are very important, so I don’t consider doing Facebook as a waste of time. When I repost funny stuff, I don’t think that’s a waste of time either because learning the art of humor will enhance my writing skills.

7. BREAKFAST 

I eat a big breakfast because we eat late at work. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. I don’t understand why other people don’t  eat breakfast.

8. ATTEND TO MY DOG

This is a temporary routine. As of right now my dog is frail and thin, so I have to give her medicine. I hope she recovers soon.

9. OTHERS

If I wake up really early, I also watch some videos or do some crafts.

Watch out for more Habits and Routines.

Check out my other blog categories.

If you like this post, please subscribe to this blog. Ja is also on Twitter and FacebookTumblr, Bloglovin (for blogfor Tumblr). Email Ja at: ageofthediary@gmail.com. 

Note: For some entries in this blog, a few names and details have been deliberately and willingly changed by the author. This is a personal decision made by the author for specific reasons known to her and is not an endorsement for censorship.